• Visit Our Family
    of Travel Leaders

Call 888.979.4073 or +1.802.490.1843 outside North America

Find an Adventure

Find an Adventure

Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)

The Falkland Islands, also known as Islas Malvinas by the Argentines, are located some 400 km northeast of Tierra del Fuego, the southern-most point in South America. This archipelago itself consists of East and West Falkland, divided by Falkland Sound.

The Falklands are of great interest for birdwatchers. There are 63 breeding species and 23 annual migrants, plus a long list of others that occasionally arrive. Thanks to the rich surrounding seas, the Falklands boast no less than five breeding species of penguins.

Photo taken by a Quark passengerPhoto taken by a Quark passengerPhoto taken by a Quark passenger