Skip to main content
Photo: David Merron

Antarctic Express: Fly the Drake — Reviews

Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews

CAROL P.

Verified Passenger

February 22, 2020

Carol Peterson

It was an excellent trip. Getting to and from the Antarctic was an adventure in itself. We were one of the lucky ones who managed to have 6 nights on the boat. We loved our suite and thought the food on board was very good. The shore landings and zodiac cruises all were beyond expeditions. I truly will never forget our first landing on Paulette Island - the smell, the sound and then the sight of so many penguins, all a mind blowing experience. Gazing at the icebergs, another unforgettable experience, offered the opportunity to capture and share some incredible photos. We enjoyed our guides and always felt safe. We thank you for providing this opportunity and for giving us the chance to have it without having to cruise through the Drake Passage. If there are any photos available from your staff photographer, I would most appreciate seeing them if you could direct me to a site. I didn't get into the photo sharing process on board. Thanks again for a marvellous adventure. Carol and John Peterson, Jan 15 to 22 Fly the Drake Cruise.

ARTHUR M.

Verified Passenger

January 30, 2020

Great trip!

Wonderful in every way. Thank you!

MARY D.

Verified Passenger

January 29, 2020

Fantastic, wonderful, amazing experience, loved every minute of it!

We were lucky to have great weather for our Antarctic Fly the Drake expedition. The scenery was indescribably beautiful viewed from the ship and while out on zodiac excursions where you really felt the vastness and beauty of Antarctica. We had daily up close encounters with wildlife: penguins, humpbacks, orca and seals. The expedition team and ship's crew were amazing, kind and helpful, going all out to make every minute of every day special for everyone. All the passengers were warm and friendly, and there were about 15 other solo travellers so I never felt lonely. It was extra special to share this experience with so many wonderful people who were just as jazzed about it as I was.

KATHRYN H.

Verified Passenger

January 27, 2020

A great adventure

This has to be one of my most exciting adventures I have ever taken. Quark was a fantastic company to tour with. They are organized and very cautious when it comes to safety. It is very clear that they have done this tour successfully numerous times.

TERI H.

Verified Passenger

January 27, 2020

Amazing trip in a beautiful place, Antarctica!

We had the most amazing trip to Antarctica! The ship was comfortable and roomy with great beds and plenty of lounges to choose from and two hot tubs to sit in while watching penguins and whales cavort around the ship, housekeeping was extremely attentive with turn down service and daily attention to our rooms several times a day, and the food was fabulous with multiple choices each lunch and dinner and special nights with surprise deserts and even caviar! Even the bar was well stocked and kept the spirits flowing! The expedition staff was amazing; always friendly and helpful, knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and always kept us safe while still having fun! We really enjoyed that the staff dined with the guests and mixed it up so we all had a chance to dine with and ask questions of our various guides. The mix of expertise was great from marine biologists to geologists to historians, and the daily briefings provided great information for what we either had seen or could hope to see. The staff did everything possible to be sure we saw the the many beauties and creatures of the Antarctic, and we did! I can't think if a penguin, whale or seal from the region that we didn't see. Truly AMAZING! The ability of the ship's captain to adapt to find smooth water and good weather, made the adventure pleasant and comfortable. Our Sweet Abbey morning wake-up announcement was so pleasant "Good Morning friends of the Ocean Adventurer" and it was so fun to hear her tell us where we were and the plan for the day, that several of us recorded it so we could listen to it again and again after we left. I love that every morning and afternoon you had excursions planned and everyone could share in all of them. The size of the ship was small enough that no one had to miss out and large enough to have all the amenities. Beautifully done for a dream trip come true!

SANTIAGO C.

Verified Passenger

January 27, 2020

I sent my review from

I sent my review from the ship’s computer.

ANGELA C.

Verified Passenger

January 12, 2020

Trip of a lifetime

Great crew and wonderful ship. Excursions were everything I expected and more.

PANG H.

Verified Passenger

January 02, 2020

Grand Slam ALL 7 Dream Fulfilled

Which is a better word than awesome? Incredible? Spectacular?Phenomenal? Incomprehensible? I would use all to describe the wonderful trip of a lifetime, Fly The Drake!
The scenery was fabulously unbelievable! The weather was excellent, as if it was specifically made for us. And of course,the expedition team was flawless,the ship's crew were top notch! We really enjoyed every moment onboard and on land!
Special thanks to all who had assisted me in fulfilling my dream of completing the Grand Slam of All 7 Continents (and I had previously sailed on all 5 oceans as well). Credit must be given to:
1. Neil who always serve with a smile.
2. Mala who was so passionate about imparting the wildlife knowledge to all.
3. Santiago the top class biologist who happens to be a top dancer!
4. Matha with her trade mark smile, irrespective of where and when you see her.
5. All restaurant staff especially Joselito, Kharisma and Edzi, thank you so much!

Last but not least, special thanks to Lotte Lambourn of London office who had rendered all the support and cooperation.
Cheers Ocean Adventurer!!!

CHERYL B.

Verified Passenger

December 30, 2019

The most amazing experience ever

Words will never describe this incredible experience and pictures will never do it justice. A holiday I will remember for the rest of my life. Incredible journey from the start to the finish...the ship, the staff, the experience - WOW & THANK YOU :-)

ROBERT C.

Verified Passenger

December 26, 2019

Quark Air & Cruise to Antarctica

We took advantage of Quark's option to fly over the Drake Passage and then board the ship for an exhilarating visit to the "white continent". We were extremely pleased with our experience. Once on board the ship the multitude of arrangements and logistics went exceedingly well; we found the guides and experts to be extremely knowledgeable and valuable (with a special comment here about Marla, who is exceptional); and the sights and experiences to be memories we will return to for the rest of our lives.